Thread: Upcoming Releases

Squared

Upcoming Releases

I think we need a place to flag up any releases that are expected soon that other posters might want to know about, or that we're especially excited about.

I don't have my finger on the pulse the way that I used to have, but I know that Marilyn Manson has a new album coming out in a couple of weeks. I lost track with his stuff over the last ten years or so, but I've heard that the last album was a bit of a return to form. Be interesting to see what he's come up with this time around.

New Killers album coming out. Stoked for that!

Squared
    Yeah, I know quite a few people are excited for that. I like the ones by The Killers that they played when I was a student, even though I didn't really like them when I was a student. Funny how that works, eh? Someone bought me a copy of Day and Age which I did listen to a few times but found it wasn't really for me.

I've heard that the Zack de la Rocha album that he's supposed to have been working on since before RATM quit the first time could finally drop this year. Be interesting to compare it with the RATM/Public Enemy crossover that we heard in Prophets of Rage (which I was really underwhelmed by, if I'm honest).

Speaking of underwhelmed, there's a new Weezer album coming soon, but the bits I've heard from it haven't grabbed me at all. Shame, I used to really like them.

I can't stand The Killers, or Franz Ferdinand or the Kaiser Chiefs.

Bland, radio friendly rock with absolutely nothing interesting about them.

Squared
    Sort of get where you're coming from but I wouldn't go that far.

I would say that about the new Stereophonics album. They've played a couple of songs on the radio ahead of the release and they are just dire. No energy at all. Very much the sound of a band that should have hung it up at least ten years ago, and probably fifteen.